KC and The Sunshine Band – Give It Up

After a couple of heavy blog posts, I have to share one of the most uplifting songs in the world. Give It Up is still as much a delight to me now as it was when I was just 6 back in 1984. The intro, and that awesome bouncy bass entrance still makes my heart leap,it’s truly a beautiful sound and fills me with joy. I used to leap around many a dance floor to this song and would still throw some limited shapes if it came on right now. It’s that kind of infectious tune that just fills your body with GROOVE!

I’d never seen the video before I sought it out just now for this post. It is seriously fucked up, I think they were going for some Star Wars references (it’s the year after Return Of The Jedi, says the Star Wars geek), but it’s probably too cheap to be successful. KC (I’m guessing that’s him, anyway) looks a bit menacing really, and with him looking a bit moody the lyrics of the song start to have a darker meaning when you dwell on them, so don’t! This video is an edited version of the song, but I’m sure you all have the song or know where to find it. In the meantime, watch this and get your hum on – my gift to you…!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment